Department of Mathematics


To mould the students to acquire mathematical skills required for strengthening Mathematics the back bone of Engineering  education.

  • Provide platform to acquire abilities to evaluate problems using analytical/numerical/graphical techniques.
  • Provide a back ground for relating mathematical techniques to solve real life problems. 
  • To involve faculty in research which enriches teaching-learning process.


About the Department:

The Department is equipped with full fledged, experienced and highly academically oriented faculty. As a result of its continuous, sincere and result oriented efforts as a team, the department has been witnessing excellent results consistently and every year a good number of students are scoring cent percent. The Department has fully fledged Research Centre, recognized by Visvesvaraya Technology University, Belgaum. The department is actively engaged in research activities in the areas of Fluid Mechanics and Graph theory and conducted  four International conferences.

  • L. Venkata Reddy , N. P. Chandra Shekara and Sreelakshmi D. have been awarded Ph.D. degree from the research centre  under the guidance of Dr. S. Manjunath, BNMIT, Bengaluru.
  • R. A. Daisy Singh is registered for Ph.D. under VTU, Belgaum and she has submitted her Thesis for the award of Doctoral degree.


About Head of the Department:

Dr. S. Manjunath has obtained doctoral degree in 2000 from Bangalore University, Bangalore. He has guided one student for Ph.D. degree in Computer Science, one in Mechanical Engineering and four students in Mathematics and presently guiding six students in Mathematics under VTU.

His main area of interest is Applied Mathematics and in particular Fluid Mechanics.  Presently, he is associated with Prof. P. Sibanda, University of Kwa Zulu Natal, South Africa, Prof. Andrew T. Chan, University of Nottingham, Malaysia and Prof. Pradeep G. Siddheshwar, Bangalore University, Bangalore in investigating two – and three – dimensional passive solute dispersion in non-linear flows through porous media. The highlight of this work is that it covers Lighthill-, pre-Taylor-and Taylor regimes of dispersion in both Darcy and non-Darcy flows. Apart from his research work, he has delivered invited talks in the field of Fluid Mechanics in many National and International conferences held in India and abroad.  He received ‘Recognition of Excellence’ Award (1997 & 2001) by RSST, Bangalore and ‘Excellence in Education’ Award (1997) RSST, Bangalore in the field of research in Mathematics.

He has visited National University of Singapore, Singapore (1997), Indonesia (1997) and Western Australia (2004) to present research papers in the International conferences.  He is also Life Member of Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, Operational Research Society of India, Indian Society for Technical Education, the Ramanujan Mathematical Society, the Indian Mathematical Society and the Academy of Discrete Mathematics & Applications.

Department of civil engineering, University of Nottingham, Malaysia campus, Malaysia has invited him to conduct scientific research during February 16 – 25, 2011 and also to deliver a talk on Hydro dynamics dispersion problems.

He has published 41 research papers in the National Journals / International Journals / Conferences proceedings, presented 16 research papers in the National / International Conferences, attended 42 Conferences / Symposia and delivered 21 invited talks in the National / International Conferences.

He is also member, Board of Examiners and Board of Studies in VTU, Autonomous colleges of VTU and Deemed Universities, Vice-President, Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (2008 –  09), Executive Council Member, Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (2012 – 14) and Joint Secretary, Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (2018 – 20).


Staff Details:

Ph.D : 06, PGs : 01 (01 Submitted Thesis), UGs : Nil, Total: 07

Professors: 01,  Assoc. Professors: 04, Asst. Professors: 02

Staff : Student ratio :  Not applicable

Average experience of staff: 20 years


Research Activities:

Research Publications:55